Néablog  

It is what it is, is what it is.


rss | atom

My favourite blogs
...by fellow MCers
The capacious hold-all
Why should I listen to you?
As above
Carbonated ink
A Wallaby Abroad
Singing while they sleep

My favourite blogs
...by innocent bystanders
How to learn Swedish in 1000 difficult lessons
librarian.net
Blind höna : på kornet
jill/txt
Radosh.net
Making light
Eating muffins in an agitated manner
Du är vad du läser
flânerie.org

Vanity
Home page
Guest book
Amazon Wish List

Frequently visited
Orange MC
MC in Outer Space
Cathouse webcam
Order of the Stick

Currently reading
Tigerdödaren Wu Song och hans vapenbröder - Berättelser från träskmarkerna 2 (Johan reading aloud to me)

Current hug count


*HUGS* TOTAL!
give _Nea more *HUGS* Get hugs of your own


Listed on BlogShares




2 Comments:

Hi I got caught by this.......logged ont the site first time,my anti phishing ware didn't id it. What can I do now to retrieve the situation.

By nick, at February 16, 2007 11:10 AM  

I'm sorry, Nick, I don't have any specific advice - I don't even know if this is a phishing scam from people trying to get your credit card details, or if it is an attempt to infect your computer with a virus.

Check for viruses, and don't provide your personal information, is all I can say. All I know about it is that I got the messages -- I put the full details on this site just in case anybody else wanted to know if it was a scam. (Which they obviously did. I've received a lot of Googlehits for this post.)

By Linnéa, at February 16, 2007 11:31 AM  

Post a Comment

 
I received two fake e-cards this morning. It was obvious from the subject line that they were fake -- real ones tend to mention the person who sent them, which these didn't, and besides, getting two identical notifications made the spam warning klaxon go off immediately.

Here is what the messages looked like:

Från: services@americangreetings.com
Ämne: Valentine's Day eCard !
Datum: onsdag 14 feb 2007 07.17.48 GMT+01:00

To view your eCard, choose from the options below.
Click on the following link.
[1]http://www.americangreetings.com/view.pd?i=414303935&m=2157&rr=z&source=a
g999
Or copy and paste the above link into your web browser's "address" window.
If you have any comments or questions, please visit
[2]http://www.americangreetings.com/customer/emailus.pd?source=ag999
Thanks for using AmericanGreetings

References

1. http://02317.americansgreetings.net/uk/viewcard.html
2. http://02317.americansgreetings.net/uk/viewcard.html


Note the "References" URLs - they lead to americansgreetings.net. (In the second one, they led to americansgreetings.biz.) Those are the real URLs that the ecard link and the "Contact" link led to. I haven't tried to visit those sites, needless to say.

I thought it would be a good idea to let americangreetings.com know that their address was being spoofed, so I emailed their customer service. However, it turns out that unless you are a paying customer with them, you can't email them. There is good business practice for you.

Labels:



  posted by Linnéa Anglemark at 09:22 2 comments


Wednesday, February 14, 2007  
Powered By Blogger TM